Dow's / 2011 Vintage Port.

£189.50 £99.50
(You save £90.00)
(No reviews yet) Write a Review
Due to federal trade restrictions, we are unable to ship this product to the USA.
Calculated at Checkout
Dow's / 2011 Vintage Port

This Product is Temporarily Out of stock.


ABV: 20%.

UNIT: 75cl.

The 2011 Dow Vintage Port was made from no less than 44 separate ferments from finest fruit sourced from Quinta do Bomfim (35% of the blend), Quinta da Senhora da Ribeira (42%) and the Santinho (14%) and Cerdeira (6%) estates. Just six of the best lots were used in the final blend, which consists of 40% Touriga Franca, 36% Touriga Nacional, 10% Sousao and 14% of old vine plantings. It has a beautiful, quite extravagant bouquet with copious black and red fruit, Indian spice, and hints of menthol and orange rind that unfold wonderfully in the glass. The palate is a sumptuous affair, one that is beautifully balanced with velvety smooth, plump tannins, copious black fruit with a harmonious, white pepper-tinged finish that is a decadent delight. This is one of the finest of the declarations of 2011 Vintage Ports, a sublime expression of the vintage you would be foolish not to buy. This is Dow at its best.

WINE SPECTATOR / 2014 WINE OF THE YEAR: Wine Spectator named Dow's 2011 Vintage Port its 2014 Wine of the Year, calling it "a monument to quality and the modernization of the Douro." The Dow's 2011 Vintage Port is the first fortified wine and first Portuguese wine to top the magazine's prestigious Top 100 List since 1997.

"It is an incredible honour and privilege to be recognized by Wine Spectator as the best wine of 2014," says Rupert Symington, Joint Managing Director of the Symington Family Estates. "It is a testament to the fantastic work of the entire Dow's team, from our winemakers to our growers and everyone in between. My family and I couldn't be more proud of the wines we produce, and I hope this gives wine lovers everywhere a reason to fall in love with Port all over again."

THE WINE ADVOCATE: 96-98 Points / 28th Jun 2013.